Daniel M Philbin Jr named new chair of the ACC board of governors

Daniel M Philbin Jr
Daniel M Philbin Jr

Daniel M Philbin Jr has been named chair of the American College of Cardiology (ACC) board of governors and secretary of the board of trustees, the main governing body of the ACC, for 2020–2021. His term began at the close of the ACC’s Virtual Scientific Session Together with World Congress of Cardiology. The congress was originally scheduled to take place in Chicago (USA) from 28–30 March but was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

A press release from the ACC details that Philbin will lead governors from chapters representing all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Canada, Mexico and representatives from the US health services. The board of governors is the grassroots governing body of the College.

Philbin is a clinical cardiac electrophysiologist at the New England Heart and Vascular Institute in Manchester, New Hampshire. He founded the EP laboratory at Vassar Brothers Medical Center in 1999 and directed it for six years before moving to New Hampshire, where he maintains a clinical practice focusing on complex ablations and device implants. He sits on the credentialing committee for the North East Region for Anthem and serves as vice speaker of the New Hampshire Medical Society. Philbin became a Fellow of the American College of Cardiology in 2000, and since 2014 has served on the Executive Council of the New Hampshire Medical Society as a representative from ACC’s Northern New England Chapter. In addition to serving on the board of governors for New Hampshire from 2017–2020, Philbin sat on the BOG Steering Committee from 2018–2020, and on ACC’s board of trustees from 2019.

“Given the high standards that ACC governors have come to expect from their chair, I am deeply honoured to accept the position,” Philbin says in the ACC statement. “ACC members depend upon the board of governors, their representative body, to orient the College’s efforts always toward the needs of our patients. As we combat the new challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic, I look forward to working with our members at the grassroots level to advance our mission to transform cardiovascular care and improve heart health.”

Other ACC officers for 2020–2021 are president Athena Poppas; vice president Dipti Itchhaporia; and treasurer Howard T Walpole Jr.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here