Douglas Drachman named as next vice chair of American College of Cardiology’s Annual Scientific Session

Douglas Drachman
Douglas Drachman

Douglas Drachman has been selected as the next vice chair of the American College of Cardiology’s Annual Scientific Session. Drachman will serve as vice chair for two years, at ACC ‘21 and ACC ‘22, and then as chair for two years at ACC ‘23 and ACC ‘24.

A press release from the ACC outlines that Drachman is the Corrigan Minehan Heart Center Director of Education and the Teresa G and Ferdinand F Martignetti Endowed Chair for Cardiovascular Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston. His career has focused on education and advancing clinical care. He has been a member of the ACC Annual Scientific Session Program Committee since 2013 and has served on several education-focused ACC committees, including as chair of the Faculty Development Workgroup and the Curriculum Design Committee and as a member of the Lifelong Learning Oversight Committee.

In 2011, he participated in the ACC’s Emerging Faculty Programme, which promotes skills development for emerging faculty who are committed to contributing to ACC’s education mission. At the completion of the programme, he was awarded the W Proctor Harvey Teaching Award for his dedication and skill in teaching.

ACC president Richard J Kovacs says in the press release: “Dr Drachman has embodied ACC’s core value of promoting a culture of continuous improvement and lifelong learning. His skill and dedication to teaching and education are essential to leading the ACC’s Annual Scientific Session and ensuring we continue to host the premier cardiovascular conference in the world.”

The role of vice chair was established by the ACC in 2014 to ensure consistency and continual improvement of the ACC’s flagship meeting. According to the ACC, the Annual Scientific Session vice chair and chair are responsible for leading the development of the educational programme, which attracts more than 13,000 professional attendees to the meeting each year


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here